Hot Chocolate

Sitting in front of a crackling fire with a mug of rich dark cocoa evokes such a warm feeling inside and out. But to enjoy hot cocoa or hot chocolate without milk or cream creates a challenge. So I experimented. I started with bittersweet chocolate and boiling water, but it was too strong. Then, I added a little vanilla flavoring and a teaspoon of sugar; it had a rich chocolate taste but I missed the creaminess of milk. (I think I am beginning to sound like Goldilocks-too strong, too chocolatey….) On to the next bed, I mean cup. I added some unsweetened vanilla almond milk to the chocolate mixture I already had, and it was just right.

hot chocolate

hot chocolate

Hot Chocolate

1 ounce Scharffen Berger bittersweet chocolate, chopped
3/4 cup water
1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1 teaspoon sugar
dash of vanilla, optional

Heat the water and almond milk until it simmers. Pour over chopped chocolate mixed with a teaspoon of sugar; whisk together. Serves 2. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

