Applesauce Muffins

Applesauce muffin

Applesauce muffin


I love these muffins for an afternoon snack; they fill me up without being cloying. If you are looking for a bit more sweetness, spread a little cinnamon honey or homemade apple butter on the muffin.

Applesauce Muffins

1/2 cup Earth Balance margarine, softened
1 cup turbinado sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups unbleached white flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon allspice
8 ounces unsweetened applesauce

Preheat oven to 350°F. Cream margarine, sugar, egg, and vanilla. Mix flour, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, and allspice; add to dry ingredients. Stir in applesauce. Grease muffin tin (or use nonstick spray) and fill. Bake 13-17 minutes.

Makes 12 muffins.

3 responses to “Applesauce Muffins

  1. Having already sampled these, I am really excited to use this recipe. But I can’t believe I didn’t ask this yesterday – Cinnamon Honey?? Have I been missing out? I didn’t even know there WAS such a thing! Fill me in! :]

    –katie

    Like

  2. Katie,

    CinnaHoney is made by YS Organic Bee Farms. I checked their website (http://www.ysorganic.com/index.html), but I didn’t see it listed. I’m sure a local health food store would have it because my mom carries it at her store (New World Natural Foods in St. Louis, MO). When Rowan was over in May, I think he was eating out of the jar while proclaiming his love for honey.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Susan

    Like

  3. Okay sweet, I’ll have to check out our health food store [Earth Fare, in Athens] and look for it. I love honey already, so why wouldn’t I love CinnaHoney?? :]

    You’re awesome Susan!
    –katie

    Like

Leave a Reply

