Banana Cupcakes

Banana cupcakes with boiled icing

Banana cupcakes with boiled icing


Cake or Cupcakes? Always an issue for me. I find recipes for elaborate cakes, because it is just my husband and me, I don’t want an entire cake sitting on the counter (or in the refrigerator) tempting me to gorge myself several times a day. I try to half the recipe which will usually make 12 cupcakes (still more than enough).

These banana cupcakes turn out light and moist every time I make them (except for the time I forgot to put the sugar in, but I don’t want to talk about that).

Banana Cupcakes

Preheat oven to 375°
Stir together, set aside:
1 cup unbleached white flour
1 1/4 teaspoon Rumford baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of cloves
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
Cream until fluffy:
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup Earth Balance margarine, softened
Add and beat well:
1 large egg
Stir in:
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Add, alternately with flour mixture:
1 cup mashed ripe bananas
Pour the batter into a lightly greased muffin tin.
Bake for 13-17 minutes. Cool.

Boiled Frosting

Mix, stir, and boil at high medium high heat until the syrup reaches 238°F (soft-ball stage):
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
Beat until soft peaks form:
2 medium egg whites
pinch of salt
Pour hot syrup, very slowly, into egg foam until it forms stiff peaks.
Stir into frosting:
3/4 teaspoon vanilla

To assemble:
Slice 1-2 medium firm bananas. Place several slices of banana on each cupcake; cover banana with frosting. Sprinkle some turbinado sugar on top of frosting. Serve.

Leave a Reply

